"This site requires JavaScript to work correctly"

science prize for ai

third award ceremony on 14 May 2024

anton fink science prize

for artificial intelligence

The Deggendorf Institute of Technology will award the "Anton Fink Science Prize for Artificial Intelligence" for the third time in 2024. This award will contribute to strengthen teaching, research and development explicitly in the field of AI. The prize, endowed with 10,000 Euros, can be awarded to individuals, start-ups, universities, research institutes, foundations and companies for groundbreaking achievements in the research, development or practical application of AI.

The topics of this competition is AI applications related to Industry 4.0, Service 4.0, Medicine 4.0 and Human-Machine-Interaction. The prize is intended to honor and promote corresponding digital innovations that are concretely used in companies but must also be methodologically sound.

An overview of all the relevant information can be found here.

Contact person: Prof. Dr. Patrick Glauner







Applications involving research projects or research outcomes from all over Europe will be accepted.
The application deadline is 31 January 2024 and the winner will be announced on 14 May 2024 in Deggendorf.
Applications must include research details, an outline of the innovation created and a CV of the applicant, to be sent to ki-preis@th-deg.de.

The following are evaluated in the AI fields of Industry 4.0,  Service 4.0, Medicine 4.0 and Human-Machine-Interaction:

  • Research
  • Developments
  • Practical applications

The application should answer these 4 questions:

1. What are the project / research outcomes?
2. What methods were used?
3. What innovations were created?
4. How are they specifically used in a company?

A CV of the applicant should be attached.

Approximately 2-3 pages are required for points 1-3.

Prize money: € 10,000 

Young Talent Award: € 1,000




the jury


The jury consists of DIT professors Prof. Dr. Patrick Glauner, Prof. Dr. Dr. Heribert Popp and Prof. Dr. Markus Mayer, DIT President Prof. Dr. Peter Sperber DIT Vice President Prof. Waldemar Berg, FH-Prof. DI Dr. Stefan Huber from Austria, Assoc. Prof. Ivo Bukovsky, Ph.D. from the Czech Republic, the former Bavarian Minister of Science Bernd Sibler and the award founder, Anton Fink.





conditions of participation


Eligible participants are individuals aged 18 and over who are residents of Germany, Austria or the Czech Republic, as well as groups and societies that are based in these countries. Applications and research papers are accepted in both German and English.

Companies or groups of applicants must appoint one (human!) person who will make the application and be responsible for it. Participants themselves must be aware and responsible that the presentation of their ideas or projects, insofar as industrial property rights exist, can eliminate the protection of novelties. In particular, it is their responsibility to ensure the novelty of their inventions through any patent applications prior to publication within the framework of the competition. The jury accepts no liability in this respect.

The jury will treat all confidential information received during the competition as strictly confidential and will use it solely for the purpose of judging the competition. Partipants agree to the making of visual and audio recordings at the award ceremony, where the winner will be announced by name.

Participation in the competition is subject to the exclusion of legal recourse. The jury reserves the right to exclude applicants. The jury also reserves the right to cancel the entire competition at any time without any given reason. The participants assure that the submitted documents do not violate any legal regulations or the rights of third parties. This includes, for example, copyrights, trademark rights, design rights, registered designs or patent rights.


past award ceremonies

2023 Ceremony 

On 11 May 2023, the Deggendorf Institute of Technology hosted the "Anton Fink Science Prize for Artificial Intelligence" for the second time in a festive setting. 

Winner: Tim Rädsch from the Intelligent Medical Systems Division of the German Cancer Research Center (Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum)

Science Prize for AI 2023


2022 Ceremony 

On 28 June 2022, the Deggendorf Institute of Technology hosted the "Anton Fink Science Prize for Artificial Intelligence" for the first time in a festive setting. 

Winner: Prof. Dr. Jan Schmitt from the Institute of Digital Engineering (IDEE) at the University of Applied Sciences Würzburg-Schweinfurt

Science Prize for AI 2022